Archive for February 7, 2010

MMX’S XLIV

February 7, 2010

 So – Mardi Gras starts a little early this year!   Congratulations to the Saints.    I actually didn’t have a strong favorite this game.  Cousin lives in Indianapolis, so that kind of tips it to the Colts;  but I’ve always liked Drew Brees, ever since he was at Purdue.

Interesting first quarter; it belonged to the Colts.  Second quarter belonged to the Saints.   Like two games for the price of one.     Then it was Sean Payton’s show all the way.    Good to see such bold coaching.  

Strange halftime show.   I see the Superbowl still goes in for elderly singing groups.    But kudos to the Light Show technicians and designers!    That seemed to bring a lot of applause from the audience.   I’m glad those poor old guys didn’t step in the way of  any of those laser beams.

Ads:    The guy waking up early, in the middle of the African plains…I can relate.   Goodgle had a nice one  Although I avoid Google wherever I can, they had a good ad:  Google-Search your way through the milestones of your life.

Some  companies  didn’t have any ads that worked for me.    Beer and eggs come to mind.     And one ad made me  determined  to never buy what they sell.  Fascism is not a laughing matter.     Sorry,   daughter.     I know you drive a Quattro.    But then you live in Kali-for-nya, too.

And what’s with all the flack from the Tim Tebow ad(s)?   It was nice – but if you blinked, you missed it.  With all the horrified discussion this past week,  I thought he’d be running ads at every  break.  Or at least during every quarter.     His ad was a winner though.   You can’t argue mother-son relationships.   Nor the beauty of life.  

Now I guess we have the Seventh Inning Month Stretch ahead of us.     Pack away the  TV until September.