A KINDLY DISTANCE IN THE SPRUCE TUNNEL

There really is a Spruce Tunnel.

SAMSUNG

 

It’s spectacular in the winter.  I decided to “warm up” for the Super Bowl with a little cross country skiing.

Two power outages ago,  two ice storms ago,  and three snowstorms ago  I had put out my ski poles in anticipation of some cross-country skiing in the Spruce Tunnel.

SAMSUNG

But after all that time,   all we’ve been through,  the poles were stuck tight and had to be shoveled out.

SAMSUNG

But, eventually I got going, on the trail, with a ski pole pointing the way.

SAMSUNG

I wondered why I was out here at first.    At any given time one of these long slats strapped to my feet would slip far to the right or far to the left, at the slightest little bump.    Sometimes they would take me for an unexpected ride down a little slope.

It took a little effort to get skis, scarf, and poles organized – while hanging on to keys and camera.

SAMSUNG

But then I got my ski legs.   I felt the joy of swishing along, breathing in the cool fresh air,  enjoying the glittering white snow and the fresh green pines.

Everything looked picture-ready.  The dark evergreen boughs contrasted with their snow covering.

SAMSUNG

Patterns of snow caught my attention –

SAMSUNG

As I glided along with soft sounds and fresh scents and peace and quiet all around me,  my mind was busy with the thoughts about this day:  a very high and lovely holy day;   Groundhog Day;  and the Super Bowl coming up soon;  and class prep for tomorrow. . . .

SAMSUNG

That should be a lot for any given day.  A busy day.   But out here in the Tunnel,  there was a little distance from these things.   It was a kindly distance, one that gives perspective and helps you sort things out.

SAMSUNG

I shouldn’t have had time for skiing today in the Spruce Tunnel,  but I’m glad I went out anyway because it feels like I’ve gained. . . time. . . . and a bright path to the days ahead.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “A KINDLY DISTANCE IN THE SPRUCE TUNNEL”

  1. Lois K. Haglund Says:

    Wish I had that much ambition to get out & about!


Leave a Reply

