LIKE WALKING IN THE DARK

SAMSUNG

I took a walk this evening, just to get out,  get quiet,  get away from all the activity I had imposed on myself today.     There is much to do before a long road trip, and I’m already a bit nervous about all the packing and cleaning involved.

My body is still fighting some disease processes, and sometimes it gets very weak and fatigued – so then I’m doubly doubtful whether I’ll have what it takes to begin the westward journey.  I had to take some time out from these packing worries.

To walk around the “big block” in front of my house is .8 miles.   Less than a mile.   I walked slowly and had plenty of time to settle down my mind,   to “still” my turbulent thoughts.

“Be still and know that I am God. . .”    The Bible I read nowadays says “Be still and see that I am God. . .”     And then both versions go on to say:   “. . . I will be exalted among the nations, and I will be exalted in the earth.”

Be still, quiet your mind, hush yourself. . . because it’s not all about you,  it’s about Me, God is saying to us.

I can’t argue with that.   It’s a sure and strong idea.

As I came back around to my own house,   I looked down the road and noticed that our big familiar trees were presenting an interesting shape in the darkening sky.   My mind was “slow” enough to catch it.     It was there, waiting to be noticed.

I suppose much of life is like that –  Like taking a walk in the dark.   Can’t see much around you, but Big Things are there.

“Be still and know that I am . . .   the God Who Is There. . . .

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Analysis

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

