CULINARY ROAD TRIP – A FEAST FOR THE EYES

“Take time for a little sightseeing trip with me.”

Not much of a “culinary”  road trip if you’re expecting a lot of food.  Turns out I wasn’t hungry enough to visit all the restaurants I had planned to see, there’s only one more to show you,  but I found some other kinds of very nice feasting too:

And so here are the beautiful blue waters I promised you in the last posting.

Blue.    The color for our souls.    Heaven.   The Mantel of Mary, surrounding us.

SAMSUNG

I walked way out in the “beautiful blue waters”  to see these colorful cliffs.

SAMSUNG

They were a feast for the eyes.   All the colors,  the many blues,  the brownish reds of the cliffs, and all the greens.

In order to get out to the blue waters, you have to drive down an interesting road – one edged with huge rocks from the bottom of the Lake.
I rocky way Presq Isle rocks I parked the car, got out to take this photo of the  road I was on.    The rocks are put there to keep the road in place when strong icy winds blowing off of Lake Superior smash huge waves against the shoreline,   rearranging man’s best efforts, obliterating the roads in the winter storms.      But this road is needed,  so the rocks are there to protect it.

The road leads us to an important industrial structure.   Literally,  keeping our American industry going in its small way.  It’s an iron ore chute,  one edge leading from the iron ore trains, the other edge leading to the iron ore docks, and eventually the  ore boats.

I  Ore Chute over road

Here is a boat “at work.”   It’s steaming and smoking and ready to go as soon as it’s loaded.

SAMSUNG

I did write at the beginning here that I  “walked way out in the beautiful waters.”   Here’s how you get to do that:

I Presq stairway to

No vertigo allowed!!!

Those stairs lead to a breakwater,  just inviting people to get out “into the “Lake.”    It’s from way out on the breakwater that I took those photos of the cliffs.
Along the way you can see down into the clear waters the  giant stones, smoothed by countless years of polishing by forces of water deep in the Lake.

I subsurface rocks

It looks like you can reach down and touch those smooth stones,  but the water is anywhere from  6 – 12 feet deep right there.

The water was pretty tranquil that day.   Some disturbance had produced interesting, almost “liquid”  waves.  Well,  you know . . .  waves are not “water”  but “disturbances, and usually a lot more sharp-looking than these.

I  Presq Beautiful Disturbance

They  were fascinating.  I looked far out into the Lake but couldn’t tell what had produced these.   I took so many photos of these waves but, well, they all look pretty much the same.

This object sent a rather whimsical thought into my head:I Presq screw

Along the breakwater there are these “screws.”   The breakwater is held in place by screws?   Well,  a guy might call them … bolts?   Lugnuts?   Pins?     Nice to know the breakwater is not going anyplace,  but if you keep watching the water,  it’s easy to trip over these things and land right in the water!     This screw-thing was at the end of the easy part of the breakwater.

SAMSUNG

Here is the end of the breakwater with a tiny little lighthouse at the very end.    The rocks are just stacked together (no screws to hold them!)  and you can see way down,  8, 10, 12 feet into where the water starts.   I’ve been on these rocks many, many times.  They’re a lot of fun to climb, and it feels like an accomplishment to get to that little lighthouse.

But I had one more “eating place”  on my itinerary – and this was the day I could end my trip and start the long drive  from this Far Far North to my home in the Far North.

SAMSUNG

The Long Road Home begins here.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Travel

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

