DATE DEFEAT

I give up!

 

SAMSUNG

I bought a pretty little calendar gadget for a friend a few years ago, and I liked it so much I bought one for myself.    It’s ceramic and I like the delicate feel of it, and I thought it would be nice to change the date each morning,  kind of a way to step into the reality of each day.    There are three little ceramic rectangles with the names of months on all four sides, and then the cubes have some sort of combination of numbers that allow you to display every  date of the month.

Unfortunately it doesn’t have any indication of where the time flies away to.

I once brought our class discussion to a screeching halt when I asked the question:  “Does anyone have a good working definition of Time?”    No one did.   No one could explain what time actually is.  My Friend-With-The-Camera, who was in that class,  kindly offered to research the question.   He presented the results to us the next week — and no one was any wiser.

We all could talk about the effects of time and the changes that it brings, but we couldn’t catch up to its coattails and hang on while Time whirled away from us.

I know I’ve been very busy these past few weeks, but I usually have a good sense of time passing.   Lately,  I’ve been wrong every time my “inner clock”  came into contact with the outer world.

So I give up.  It’s just September 20-dash.   By the time I set the calendar to September 30-dash,  it will be well into October.

“. . . .vita brevis. . . .”

“…puff of smoke. . . .”

Kronos in fire

Kronos eats his children as soon as they are born.

 

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Kronos

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

