PUSH BACK WITH TRUTH

I am, along with many of you, watching the developments in Baltimore.      I am in awe of  watching two groups of people right now, and both will be effective because they are looking at the truth of the matter before them.

I’ve never “interrupted” my own posting before, but I must.  I can’t rest until I do.  Nobody has objected.  Nobody questioned or criticized.   But I do.  I protest.      Naming these two groups gives them, perhaps, more credit than I want to imply.    Though I agree with some of their public statements which the media allows us to hear,   I know these groups well enough to know I can’t endorse them as a whole.   .    This is promising.  I haven’t seen any posturing or grandstanding as I do coming from the political leaders and the lawyers.   I know only that they seem refreshingly focused on what is actually in front of them.   Promising.

The second  “awesome”  group  are the mothers    …some of them, judge which ones for yourself.    Listen to them, if you care about children.   They speak truth,  not sociological or psychological nonsense.   Nevertheless,  they are speaking from intimate experience with the realities of a fallen, crumbled civilization.    Their good words are merely bandages for the wounds of the tragic results of rejecting civilized life.   

They are pushing back with truth.    Truth, to be sure,  but vestiges of truth;  glimpses of truth.

Having trouble sitting in front of the computer again tonight  (EMF,RF seems especially strong . . .and painful )  — but I want to keep this Push Back thing moving along:

I used the word “truth” a lot here.   Quid est veritas? as Pontius Pilate asked.    Well,  there is an answer.  It’s not a complicated question;  there is not a complicated answer.  But you can’t solve real problems if you can’t find truth and you can’t recognize it,

Here it is:   Truth is the adequation of the mind with external reality.

Or using the other word:  Truth is the correlation of the mind with external reality.

The mind includes the intellect because what informs your mind about external reality are your five senses.   It starts there with what is.   Then your intellect works on that information.    If your intellect strays from that external information,  then you are straying from Truth.

External reality is not a product of our imaginations.   We don’t somehow create external reality.  You didn’t have to be born and the external reality will go on without you when you die.

You can talk about truth when you correlate the faculties of your mind with that external reality.

Language is a participation in truth —

—  more about language next time.

Explore posts in the same categories: 2015 Issues, Christian Analysis, Current Events, Days of the Week, Truth

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

