A KITCHEN UH-UH

Uh-uh.   This didn’t work.

I’m usually pretty good in the kitchen.   I can cook well enough to please myself;  and I love to “feed” people.    I’m a Swede.   Swedes invented the word smorgasbord.

But sometimes I get into something I just wish I hadn’t started.   Yuck.

Son had brought over a bucket of newly-picked tomatoes from his garden to show me the product of his green thumb and his garden construction project;  but since he works long hours,  I kind of took possession of them,  and said there were so many, I’d try making tomato sauce – or something – so they wouldn’t go to waste.

I’ve never done this before.    Knowledge of processing newly harvested food and canning it  or whatever was never passed down to me.   Along the right-hand column of this page, down towards the bottom,  is Hilda Larson,  my great-grandmother.  She would not be impressed with my attempt to preserve this tomato harvest.

I thought if you  “blanched” the tomatoes,  the skin would just “peel right off.”    It doesn’t.    You have to work on the skins to get them to come off.  Everything gets covered with tomato goo.     And then there are fibrous parts inside and the seeds are firmly attached to those fibrous parts – and to each other.    You don’t know that if you eat a raw tomato.

I think I wasted exactly one-half of the tomatoes while trying to skin them, and I still don’t know what to do with all the seeds that made it into the second pan.

I think I cooked it down to a sauce-like consistency.

I think I flavored it with the right herbs and spices.

I think it’ll work if I freeze them in plastic containers.

I think I’ll be able to use them later in pizza sauce, spaghetti sauce, and in casseroles.

I think I won’t do this again.

Explore posts in the same categories: Domestic Chores, Garden Tomatoes

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

