(ENGLISH) CHILDREN: A RIGHT TO EXIST?

This is a  serious post,  with a little self-mockery first.   Serious, I say!!   It’s also a serious matter related to but larger than the American elections.

I am apparently more than what I seem to be.   (As are we all. )    As a matter of fact, I learned this again today during a meeting with my financial advisers, who are very competently managing some of Hubbie’s funds for me.  They’ve done well for us and so far our funds have out-performed the market.

Pie 65

But they check with me from time to time to inform me what their plans for these funds are, get my approval, and then we have time to talk about general economic issues.   That’s when I learned that I’m thinking in macro terms, they told me, whereas it’s their job to think,  well,  more locally, so to speak.   They’re thinking of the performance of my specific portfolio,  not in terms of world currency dislocations, or IMF policy, or the coming world debt bubble collapse, or my current favorite indicator:  the  Baltic Dry Index.  We have good conversations,  and they forget for a time that I’m not a professional.

But I have a right to be there, in their office.   Macro or not.

rollerblades 75      And then, speaking of a “right to be there,”  sometimes I sweep into our local “Puck n Pedal”  shop with my Rollerblades,  demanding that my ‘blades be fixed or the worn-out wheels be replaced – right away.   It takes a few moments for the young men to realize that the little ol’ lady standing in front of them wants her Rollerblades back right away!

But I have a right to be there in their little store.   I have Rollerblades, not a cane.

whip 75    Sometimes in my classes,  I illustrate a point by making reference to something that they don’t immediately think I have any experience with.   I recently referred to a good article on Hugh Glass (the real man behind the Revenant movie)  that I had read in the latest issue of my Cowboy magazine.   I didn’t have time to copy down the paragraph, so I brought the whole magazine in.   The evidence was irrefutable.    “She really does like cowboy stuff.”  

But in  spite of  being a midwestern suburbanite who grew up in a large city, and appearing to be calm and quiet (I think?),   I have a right to enjoy the rowdy, active, masculine world of the true Western cowboy,  right?

So it’s about  the right to exist, as a person,  who you are, in all your complexity.

You too have many funny little seemingly contradictory complex points of your life that you enjoy.

You have a right to be who you are.

God made you to be a unique individual with your specific set of characteristics and preferences for a reason.

So here’s the serious part.   I was reading some historical-fiction books on the aftermath of the Battle of Hastings, a bloody time just made for young warriors who could put down uprisings and rebellions –  in the 11th century.    Some of the action took place in an area they named as  ” . . . (well, see name in poster below)

And then I remembered I had just read an article in a European newspaper about the very same small town of (name in poster below)  and its probable soon demise.   Here are some residents:

 

E children.jpg

They live there with their parents, and some other English families, maybe 200 or so  people in all.   Small village.    I’m sure they are typical and normal people with lives full of complex desires, dreams,  and characteristics – like you and I have.

So my question again:  Do they have a right to exist?

The World Rulers think not — not quite.

Without  acknowledging the consequences,  the people of (this little village)  were suddenly given this announcement:

E poster.jpg

There are no “facilities”  at this village’s  “concourse.”   They have no room for 200 newcomers on top of  the population that is already there.   There is no money.  No housing.   And the people  here have no recourse, no way to protect themselves nor their way of life,   the “200 men of unknown origin”  being, of course,  islamic men from Africa.   Of warrior age,  just like these childrens’ ancestors who protected their land.

Do those lovely little children of   (this village)   have the wrong color of skin?  The wrong religion?

Do they not have a right to exist – as they are?

Does this old historic area of English people have no right to continue on?

Or do we just kick them out and ruin their little village —

SAMSUNG

Do people who look like them have no right to be who they are?

.

There plight is small.   But this is going on all over European and European-derived nations.

You should know.

 

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: 2016 Issues, Current Events, Rulers

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

