FLEETING WINTER BEAUTY

 (Just a little photo journal  . . .)

I’ve had one long 32-hour distraction!

SAMSUNG

It started yesterday with the beginning of our little snowstorm.   Looked up about noon, over my computer keyboard, out the window — and that was the end of all my work.  Can’t concentrate when there’s so much going on outside!

It seems all day long I just went from window to window as though I had never seen a snowstorm before.  The snow and the wind made such beautiful scenes and patterns –

SAMSUNG

The pond was no longer good for ice skating and hockey,  but all day there was a swirl of changing patterns.  I don’t know what the aquamarine color was,  but it was a nice touch.  No.    No blue sky to reflect into the ice.

SAMSUNG

The little weed tree at the edge of the pond was getting coated with thick, heavy, sticky snow.   Rather artistic for a “weed.”.

I checked the azaleas just outside the bay window:

SAMSUNG

Well, they kind of looked the same as the little weed tree at the edge of the pond.

I went to the front of the house:

SAMSUNG

I have a Snowball Bush!       Bloomin’ snowballs.

The snow came all day,  sometimes heavy, sometimes light.  I thought in order to keep up with it,  I’d have to shovel the driveway two or three times while it’s falling, or else I’d never be able to move it all at once.  It was wet and heavy!

Of course, this heavy, wet, sticky snow is good for rolling and packing so now I have —

SAMSUNG

—  a Snow Bear!

Okay, you can hardly see a white Snow Bear in a snowstorm,  but I had to alternate snow shoveling with . . . some fun.   Came in soaking wet,  just like when I was a little girl.

Today brought pretty much an end to the snowfall,  but we still  had wind,  shadows, patterns, and interesting things.   First I wanted to see how much snow this area got.

SAMSUNG

Mid-morning light shows 9 1/2 inches on the ruler.

Everything was covered with snow or painted with snow.

SAMSUNG

I think the neighbors across the street won’t mind if I show you their landscaping shrubs:

SAMSUNG

Well, as seen through snow falling.

Then I turned to my backyard pond.   It didn’t look the same today!

SAMSUNG

Same aquamarine color but darker in a different lighting –  and what are those circles!

SAMSUNG

As I kept going back to check on the snow patterns in the pond,  the sun came out —

SAMSUNG

So now we have patterns of gray shadows crossing the giant “lily pads.”

The sun added a whole new range of things to look at.    The temperature dropped,  the snow got lighter and dryer,  and as the wind swirled the snow into the air from off the rooftops and trees,  the sunlight lit up each of the tiny frozen particles, and it seemed like the air was filled with a million glittering little diamonds.

I’m not sure even the finest painter could capture the beauty of a bright sunlit snow scene, after a snowstorm,  with the wind still blowing.

You would have to start with paper that is light gray and blue, and then use brushes dipped in all shades of white, and maybe a little silver.

SAMSUNG

The scene is no longer fuzzy and dark and subdued,  but bright and full of contrasts.  And if you were an artist,  you’d have to remember to save the brightest white for the forest floor where the sun shines down full onto it.

We’ll lose all this in a few days.   We’re going to have a warming trend.  40 degrees and more.   Not good.   These photos will be my only memory.   Fleeting beauty!

banner for Himself.jpg 27

Kind of a nice bright interlude in the middle of Lent!

 

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Nature, snow Photography, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “FLEETING WINTER BEAUTY”


  1. […] between 9 and 10 inches of snow today.  No need for a ruler this time.  You can see it two postings ago.   9 1/2 inches.     As I was shoveling – again –  I remembered last week’s […]


Leave a Reply

