AUTOPAY WARNING

A little “public service”  announcement here:

autopay

 

My household has been set up with AutoPay for utility bills for many,many years.   We check the statements once in a while,  but occasionally, when I’m on vacation, for instance,  I may be a week or so late in doing the  “checking.”

Do you check that your Auto-Paid bills have been paid?

autopay logo

I don’t care how cute they make the logo.   I found out today that you are dealing with a Robot.

(“Within ten years robots will outnumber humans in the workplace.”)

The robot-software deals with the interface between the bill-paying software and the human.

Yesterday I got a big shock to discover that somehow my Auto-Pay feature had been shut off, without my knowledge, without my permission,  and with no notification and no provision for how to pay the utility bill in some other way.

Robots don’t deal with customer complaints, so I had to wait until this morning to talk to a human being.     She confirmed:  Your AutoPay has been removed from your account.  I’m pretty sure I gave her nice answers and questions . .  .  but I was a little breathless and stressed out while I tried to communicate.

She admitted that the utility company*   had a “glitch”**    last month in the AutoPay section.   No explanation why we weren’t notified until overdue bills were sent out.

THAT’S  your notification?   “Your bill is past due” ???

So that’s my warning.   AutoPay robot servicers are not reliable.    There will be no warning if this happens again.

I had to hang up, call back again,   to get another robot in order to pay my bill, which I did by feeding him numbers.  Numbers, after numbers, after numbers.  I guess that’s how robots talk.     And robots don’t say they’re sorry.

I have to call back again to re-set up AutoPay with another robot.     It will take about two months for the robot to get it going.

Meanwhile – do I guess how much to pay next month?  Do I guess when the due date is?

No,  I plan to bug those telephone robots every two weeks, until I regain my confidence.

Did you catch that earlier?   —

(“Within ten years robots will outnumber humans in the workplace.”)

And we don’t have a choice.

And this is not in the Humor category.

 

Bar wavy

.*   Utility company =  Detroit Edison, otherwise known as DTE.

 

.**  I suspected and still fear that this “glitch”  might have something to do with my refusing a Smart Meter on my house last month.    They are a fire hazard;  they are not UL (Underwriters Lab)  tested for safety;    and they are a health hazard to everyone, but especially uncomfortable to the electrically sensitive.    They are NOT mandated by any state or federal law.  They are part of the global system of “human management” for a “sustainable”  planet – not a good thing!

fire hazard smart meter 400

I will be paying punitive fees each month to receive a digital, non-emitting Meter,  which, while it doesn’t emit harmful RF and EMFs,   is still a fire hazard.  You can Google “smart meter house fires.”    Maybe that’s something else you should keep checking.

Keep a fire extinguisher on hand!

Explore posts in the same categories: Modern Issues

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

