FOOTBALL SATURDAY IN THE FAR NORTH

(Even if you were the Ruler of a great country, or its king or its president, you’d have to   know that the common people have common,  everyday activities that are really the center of their attention — once the politics are over!)

football-happy

 

There were a lot of things to do on this football Saturday!  First a trip to my local  grocery (and everything else) store.   First sight when you walk in the door?

1-rain-gear

Know what those are in the display?

Weather forecast:   15-25 m.p.h.  winds.     34 degrees.    Snow squalls.  

Yep –  those packages contain plastic  ponchos – for the game.   And the orange packages on the side —  hand warmers, of course.

2-game-squall

Snow on the  field!   Fans were dressed in parkas with fur-lined hoods,  holding Tim Horton’s coffee cups.   Our rivals in red travel from four to five hours south of us,  but they were wondering if weather would be a factor.

It was.   We’ve had a disappointing record this year as we put together a new  young team but we nearly had them today. One point.   Hardly a loss.     Our rivals had been a 22-point favorite.

I had plenty of football food ready (to help with the game!) ;  food like pizza and steaks and and a sweet ham and pineapple dish,  but I started the day off with this –

3-croissant

First time I ever made a croissant sausage-and-egg breakfast.   I figured if I made it at home, I’d know what’s in it.    It was pretty good,  but way too filling. I really don’t want to eat too much of the other stuff.

Football and shopping weren’t the only thing on my calendar on  this football Saturday.

5-calendar

That’s today.    Christmas Craft Show nearby.    Really some nice things made by some very talented people,  but I resisted most of it.   I thought the prices were two or three times as much as they should have been — based not on the cost of the materials or the time put into crafting these objects,   but based upon what “common, ordinary” people have in their wallets.

So I didn’t buy much for myself,  but combined my purchase with a worthy charitable endeavor:

4-tanzania

You should know about these people.   They are called Solar Circle.    They are a small, local group who are working with villages in Tanzania (Africa)    where there is no electricity,  no public infrastructure,  not schools,  and no cash money.     Solar Circle is raising money to erect solar powered schools and to give solar-powered little lamps for people to use in their houses.

They’re using cloth made in Tanzania, which is what you see in the photo.    This American group buys the cloth from the villagers, according to the story,  and then they sew napkins,  tablecloths, and such, and sell them at various craft shows.

Sounds legit.     I bought two sets of cloth napkins.  There were so many beautiful patterns that it was hard to choose.     Uncharacteristic of me,  I didn’t take any photos of their whole display.     I bought one set for me,  one set for a Christmas gift.  I would have bought more,  but like I said,  prices were two or three times higher than what “a customer”  would be comfortable paying.

So this was for charity.

A  nice full ordinary football Saturday.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

