AN UNSERIOUS SERIOUS EVE

Thanksgiving Eve.  The night before Thanksgiving.  Dinner preparations are done.   

I just want to be unserious for a while.   Because these November dates are getting too serious for me, and I’m falling into one of my funks.        Nov.3,  Nov. 11, Nov. 19,  another Nov. 19, Nov. 22,  Nov.26 . . .   Hubbie’s death.    Then Advent begins in just a few days.  Purple.  Penance.    Too many births and deaths.  And I’ve forgotten the exact birthday of my friend’s little girl,  way across the country,  but it’s in November and I miss sending her a birthday card. 

gloomy-cloud

There’s no reason for me to be in a funk.     There’s nothing “wrong.”   

bar-thorns

So here’s a trivial nice thing floating in my mind somewhere;   it’s  not able to anchor down,  not enough to make life’s serious things go away,  but . . .   it’s there in my mind.

I came home one day and found a box on my doorstep.  Now what did I order?

1-onmy-doorstep

Dinner?   No, I didn’t.      Unless my fingers   slipped on the keyboard . .  .   It could be my next-door neighbors . . .  .

I took it into the house and put it on my  kitchen counter.

2-the-thanks

A gift and a thank-you card —  from the guys who gave me a new driveway!!!!

I wrote about these guys…  I told you they were a wonderful crew!!

3-cutting-my-driveway

If you’re local —  the company name is Hayhoe!

I love popcorn!   I could have popcorn for dinner!    I’ve had popcorn for dinner!!!

3-dinner-popcorn

But not for Thanksgiving dinner!!

I can tell you the Pumpkin Spiced Caramel  is delicious!    Haven’t. . .   uh . . .  tried the others.

I told you –   my dinner preparations are already made.

Explore posts in the same categories: Humor, Thanksgiving

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

