MEAT ON FRIDAY

“Meat”  has always been kind of a  loose word in the English language.  It can mean not only the “flesh” or the “muscle-flesh” of animals  that we eat and gives us strength  (like my Highland beef cattle in the last post),   but also, it can mean food in general:  “Meat and drink at the end of a long trip.”

And it can even mean  “that which sustains you and gives you the strength to go on.” When asked if he had food enough to eat,  Jesus once answered: “My meat is to do the will of Him who sent Me . . .”       Meaning, of course  that doing the will of God gives a person motivation and the reason and the spiritual strength to go on.

“The meat which sustains me” on Fridays   is fish;   cod, specifically,  on this Friday.

fish-in-half-and-half

Baked cod.     The flesh of the cod was particularly rich and pink today.    I like to bake it  in half and half, which has fewer carbs than milk,  and it makes the cod very smooth and  creamy.

And then the onions:

fishs-onions

I cut up two onions for that pound of cod.      But I wanted a little more flavor –

fishs-pathetic-chives

I went out to my deck and picked some rather pathetic-looking  chives.  We’ve already had some very frosty nights, and I don’t usually bring my herbs in for the winter so my   chives are rather limp now,  but they still smelled real good.     Many of the herbs will come up just fine in the Spring.

The herbs are given to us for our “medicine.”     Each one has a different function in our bodies.     The Creator’s design is that all these good  health-giving herbs enhance the flavor of our food and make us want to use them in our cooking.  If I hadn’t thought of the taste that the chives would add,  I wouldn’t have thought of them at all.

“Herbs.”   From the Garden of Eden . . .   to us!

So,  all the ingredients,  all  together —

fish-in-chives-and-all

Ready for the oven:

fish-in-oven

There is another “flavor-enhancer.”    It’s said that  Hunger is the best condiment!  I was very hungry.  I hadn’t had anything to eat yet, but I had rushed off to my morning class and then  I didn’t get home until well after “lunch time”  so it was going to be a long 25-minute wait while my lunch was baking.

But, at last —

fish-in-a-dish

Baked cod and buttery boiled potatoes.

That’s the only meal I’ll have today.   The leftovers will be breakfast tomorrow and maybe a light supper on Sunday evening.      Funny how you don’t really have to eat much as you grow older.

And funny how “abstaining”  from meat is not really a  difficult penance for Friday.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Food, Friday, Vocabulary

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

