A MINI mini-EMP

 

Zapped!

lightning

I do love lightning storms.     Thunder and  lightning storms.

But – in reality –  a lightning storm can have the same effect as an EMP  —  a very small EMP,   a very tiny local EMP;   like down to one neighborhood.

Our  “local” cable/internet technician walked around our neighborhood to examine the damage done, and although it was somewhat comforting to know he had received “a lot” of calls,   one tiny EMP-type electrical event comes down to one  not-so-tiny disruption.

meltedpc

Internet gone.   Television gone.  Modem gone.   Router gone.

It looked bad.

tv nothing

I was ready to give up things that I couldn’t give up on because we need these things to live the daily life we’ve become used to!  

It took a while to determine all the damage.

Time and “activity” –  unplug, replug, rearrange wires,  move cables around,  disconnect this, reconnect that, phone calls —   It felt like more than I could handle.

cant cat.jpg

I couldn’t pay my bills. I couldn’t do my banking.   I couldn’t buy a new dress.    I couldn’t read the news.   I couldn’t check my emails.   I couldn’t do the last bit of research for my class this afternoon;  so I just went to class anyway.

Then finally,  with a little time  and distance from the problem,  a shopping list developed,  a list of things to buy to replace the . . .   melted things.

An expensive little list.

I was not in a state of mind that I could make sense of replacing and attaching all the new components, and since Son was the last to create all the various electrical pathways  at the back of the TV anyway,  I reluctantly called him as he left work – after a twelve-hour day! –  and I’m hoping he did not hear the extreme frustration and despair in my voice.

He might have.   Because he came.   And with his work and a call to the cable technician,  we got things pretty much going.

One more component to  buy tomorrow.

I can handle that.

scaredy

I don’t like  thunder and lightning storms as much as I used to.

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Humor

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

