VALENTINE’S DAY

Short post.  Bad Body day today.  Very tired.    But I do have one short thought for you on this Valentine’s Day.

Val 1

I’ve written before about who St. Valentine really is:  a bishop who aided and comforted Christians in the army of the Roman Empire and who were being persecuted, forced into pagan marriages or pagan immorality.     These stories are all probably in the Archives section under any year’s  February section.

Somehow the original bishop’s feast day had morphed by the 19th century into a celebration of courtship and attraction between a young man and a young woman, then love between married people, and then the children . . . then   sentimental love for everyone!

So I also wish all my friends and family and readers a very Happy Valentine’s Day,  wishing you love in your life and love from me, according to Love Itself from Above.  I don’t know you personally, but I do know that everyone is a very unique, one of a kind individual which, if I knew you, I would admire the good in you and wish you the best.

Because God loved you first.  If He thinks you’re worthy of His Love, then so do I –  and it’s all good,  all very nice.

Val 2

 

Getting weary of stoking the fires of commercialized love?    Return to the original meaning of Love from Above.   

“God  is  Love.”

.

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Liturgical Year, saint

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “VALENTINE’S DAY”

  1. Robert Roma Says:

    Thank You Kris and Happy Valentine’s Day to you also ! Thanks for a very thoughtful post !


  2. Thanks for your remarks. It’s all about Love, isn’t it. God is Love. Those who live with Him, live in His Love.


Leave a comment