HOLLOWED OUT

This is on my desk:It was meant to be humorous.    It’s  to remind me that some day I’ll be studying and studying and not even  notice that I’m dead…but my finite mind will still not have achieved much understanding…not by just knowing things. 

I know some things…I know all the right things to know and believe about the end of lives, the lives that God gives us as a gift for a while….about loss and grieving….that He gives…and He takes away…and that He is blessed for ever.   

I didn’t think I’d come unglued though, if I know all these things.  I didn’t know that I’d  become all hollowed out.     I didn’t know that losing my last tie to this world would mean  losing my last tie to this world.

It’s okay though,  because here’s something to know that could….    Here is what Catherine of Siena heard Our Lord say: 

One day while Catherine was praying Jesus appeared to her and said: “Daughter, do you know who you are and Who I am?    If you know these two things, you will be very happy.   You must know that you are that which is not and that I am that Which is.”    

God has created all life out of nothing, and if the mercy of God did not sustain its existence, it would immediately return to nothing.   If we are left to ourselves, without the mercy of God, we would immediately fall into sin, which is itself nothingness….

It seemed to Catherine that once a soul is possessed of this truth, it ought to receive willingly and patiently everything which seems hard and bitter, out of love of the Highest Good, Who created us out of nothing and Who offers us, raised from nothingness, eternal bliss in His own Kingdom.

Centuries later, another man with understanding would write that God’s greatness and glory is manifested when we are happy in Him….So He permits only those things which would lead us into that state…

So….

(The excerpt in blue is from Catherine of Siena  by  Sigrid Undset – a Scandinavian convert, like me…She’s dead for a while now but her words live on.)

To all those wonderful comments…thank you so much for being there…words  still unglue me…but we all march on again with what’s left, don’t we….

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Faith

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment