A SUNDAY FEAST FOR THE INTELLECT

Intellect – and senses.    (Post Pentecost – 12th Sunday:  “Blessed are the eyes which have seen the things you have seen.”)

Whenever I  (or you, I’m sure )  spend time looking at “world affairs,”  it is unsettling.   The “feathers get ruffled.”   But I assure you, “the bird is sound.”   To show you what “this bird” is resting on,  I joyfully present these paintings from the Russian painter Mikhail Nesterov.    Pardon the poor quality, but I think the theme will come through. 

In no special order:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Each of these paintings were meant to place you, the person who views these, into the scene.   

The last two feel familiar, like me.   The scenes I would most like to be in are the one with the men by the birch trees overlooking the lake….and the one with the village people, with Christ in their midst.

Which of these paintings most resemble you, as you wish to be, at your best?

Which of these scenes would you most like to be part of?

That these pictures  are of such poor quality is purely my fault.  The paintings were photographed by someone, then the photographs were photographed again, then they were put together as a YouTube presentation, then photographed again….finally to me, who photographed some of the slide presentation, and uploaded it for the Spruce Tunnel.

I became aware of the slide presentation (with beautiful music) at the site of Father Stephen’s blog , which you can go to  here at:    “Glory to God for All Things.”

Mikhail Nesterov is a Russian painter.  The world he painted was soon to be destroyed by the forces of the Leftist movement that swept across Mother Russia.    The people in the paintings had no idea of what was soon  to come into their world.    I identify so strongly with these people.    I’ll deal with that in a later posting.   Soon.

Explore posts in the same categories: Apocalypse, Christian Analysis, Current Events, Sunday Readings

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment